Broncos Student-Athletes Honoured at Awards Ceremony

Broncos Student-Athletes Honoured at Awards Ceremony

On Wednesday, April 4, many Olds College Broncos were honoured for outstanding achievements from the 2017-18 athletics season.

Many distinguished guests were in attendance, including Olds College President Stuart Cullum and his wife Bobbi, Vice President Corporate Services and CFO Mustansar Nadeem, and Vice President of Development Patrick Machacek, among many others.

A member from each team was nominated by their coach for each award, with the overall award winners being selected by the athletics staff.

The first athletic awards given were for the Rookie of the Year category:

Broncos Women’s Volleyball, Avery Gammel

Broncos Women’s Basketball, Meghan Cameron

Broncos Women’s Hockey, Jaydlin Spooner

Broncos Curling, Caitlyn Howard

Broncos Women’s Soccer, Raelene Sali

Broncos Women’s Futsal, Kyla Bosomworth

Rodeo Most Improved Female, Sylvia Trautman


Broncos Men’s Volleyball, Braden Bates

Broncos Men’s Basketball, Spencer Parrott

Broncos Curling, Tanner Sieben

Broncos Men’s Soccer, Abiodun Owolabi

Broncos Men’s Futsal, Landon Murphy

Rodeo, Most Improved Male, Cody McGonigle


Following was the award for Impact Players of the Year:

Broncos Women’s Volleyball, Clara Serrano

Broncos Women’s Basketball, Brittney Thibeaux

Broncos Women’s Hockey, Cassidy Holt

Broncos Women’s Soccer, Jasmine Flett

Broncos Women’s Futsal, Allison Wheeler

Broncos Badminton, Layce Donaldson

Broncos Curling, Julia McCrae

Rodeo, Jamie Kuzma And Danielle Chamberland


Broncos Men’s Volleyball, Jesse Stoddart

Broncos Men’s Basketball, Dyson Surmik

Broncos Men’s Soccer, Mario Fabian Gromenida

Broncos Men’s Futsal, Brendan Klassen

Broncos Curling, David McCrae


The next awards given were for the Athlete of the Year:

Broncos Women’s Volleyball, Victoria Ringuette

Broncos Women’s Basketball, Brittney Thibeaux

Broncos Women’s Hockey, Krista Wilson

Broncos Women’s Soccer, Jessie Flett

Broncos Women’s Futsal, Auslin McDaniel Perrin

Broncos Badminton, Kaitlyn Dougan

Broncos Curling, Jamie Kuzma

Rodeo Cowgirl of the Year, Martina Holtkamp


Broncos Men’s Volleyball, Lane Matthews

Broncos Men’s Basketball, Linden Jackson

Broncos Men’s Soccer, Tobias Walch

Broncos Men’s Futsal, Daniel Ribeiro de Abreau

Broncos Curling, Gwyn Beatty

Rodeo Cowboy of the Year, Joseph Faubion


The top scholars from both the men’s and women’s sides were also honoured. Three females achieved an impressive 4.0 GPA:

Karley Dieken, Women’s Volleyball

Sinja Paurat, Women’s Hockey

Molly Sharp, Women’s Hockey

Two men tied for top male scholar with a 3.77 GPA:

Matt Lehouillier, Men’s Soccer

Spencer Parrott, Men’s Basketball


Finally, the major award winners were announced.

Jaydlin Spooner, who set an ACAC record with 558 saves during the 2017-18 season, won Female Rookie of the Year, becoming the first women’s hockey player to do so at Olds College.

Landon Murphy, who won Broncos Athlete of the Week in three different sports: soccer, futsal, and badminton, claimed the award for Male Rookie of the Year.


Cassidy Holt, the captain of the Broncos women’s hockey team since its inception three years ago, claimed the award for Female Impact Athlete of the Year.

Jessie Stoddart, a leader on the court and in the classroom in his rookie year, won the award for Male Impact Athlete of the Year.

Brittney Thibeaux, who had one of the most dominant seasons in Broncos history setting a new ACAC field-goal record, averaging 25 points per game, claimed the award for Broncos Female Athlete of the Year.

Linden Jackson, who was named Second Team All-Conference by the ACAC, won the award for Broncos Male Athlete of the Year.

A full photo album can be found on our Facebook page: